Current postdoctoral researchers

Dr. Hoang-Phuong Phan


Dr Hoang-Phuong Phan received his PhD in 2016 from the Queensland Micro and Nanotechnology Centre (QMNC), Griffith University, under the supervision of Dr Dzung Dao and Professor Nam-Trung Nguyen.  His PhD focused on the piezoresistive effect in cubic silicon carbide for sensors operating at elevated temperatures. His research interests include wide band gap semiconductors; physics and devices; piezoresistive, piezoelectric and thermoelectric materials; integrated MEMS/NEMS applications; wearable and flexible electronics; and BioMEMS. Dr Phan published 50+ publications between 2011 and 2017, and holds two US patents (pending) in MEMS pressure sensors and acoustic transmitters.  He received two scholarships from the Japanese Ministry of Education, Culture, Sport, Science and Technology (MEXT) for outstanding undergraduate student (2006-2011) and outstanding postgraduate student (2011-2013) at the University of Tokyo. This was followed in 2013-2016 with concurrent Griffith University Postgraduate Research and International Postgraduate Research scholarships. Other awards include the Springer outstanding thesis, Australian Nanotechnology Network Overseas Fellowship and a number of travel grants.  He was a visiting scholar at AIST (Japan 2016) and Stanford University (US 2017). In 2017, he was the lead CI attaining a Griffith Science Group Equipment Fund grant ($AUD109K). As a young student, Dr Phuong received the Vietnam National Mathematics Olympiad: Third Prize (2004) and participated in the final round of the selection test for Vietnamese team for the International Mathematics Olympiad (IMO) 2004.

Dr. Chin Hong Ooi



Dr Chin Hong Ooi received his PhD in 2017 under the supervision of Professor Nam-Trung Nguyen and Dr Dzung Dao at the Queensland Micro and Nanotechnology Centre (QMNC) Griffith University.  His PhD examined manipulation of the floating liquid marble. Dr Ooi undertook his Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering at Singapore’s Nanyang Technological University. His research interests include liquid marble manipulation and biological applications; digital microfluidics; 3D design and fabrication of microfluidic devices and colloid and interface physics. Dr Ooi’s publications have been published in Scientific Reports, Langmuir, Lab on a Chip and Soft Matter plus other journals. He has been a recipient of Griffith University International Postgraduate Research Scholarship and Griffith University Publication Assistance Scholarship for excellent HDR candidates. His PhD thesis earned him the Chancellor Medal as well as the Academic Excellence Award. He was also featured in Queensland’s Fresh Science 2017. In Singapore, he was granted an ASEAN undergraduate scholarship.



Dr. Jun Zhang


Jun Zhang received his PhD degree in 2015 under the supervision of Prof Weihua Li and Prof Gursel Alici, University of Wollongong and Prof Nam-Trung Nguyen, Griffith University. His PhD investigated microparticle inertial focusing in symmetric serpentine microchannels, and explored its application on bio-particle filtration, separation/sorting and ordering for biosample processing and disease diagnosis. His research interests include but not limited to: micro/nano-fluidic device fabrication; inertial microfluidics and its application; hybrid microfluidic systems for flexible bio-particle manipulation, hydrophoresis and viscoelastic microfluidics; Dr Zhang has published over 40 journal articles in international journals such as Lab On A Chip, Analytical Chemistry, Scientific Reports, and Advanced Functional Materials etc and one book chapter in Springer. He was a visiting scholar at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) and Griffith University (2014), a research scientist at the University of Sydney (2015), and research fellow at the University of Wollongong (2015-2016). He received NJUST top grade fellowship (2007), first grade fellowship (2008), Excellent Graduate Student award (2009), the national fellowship of China (2008) and CSC-UOW Scholarship (2011). Dr Zhang is a member of IEEE and ASME, and has served as a referee for 10+ international journals: e.g., Lab Chip, Anal. Chem., Microfluid. Nanofluid., Sci. Rep., ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces, Biomicrofluidics, RSC Adv., IEEE Trans. Mechatron., IEEE Trans. Biomed. Circuits Syst., Biomed. Microdevices, J. Micromech. Microeng. Appl Phys Lett etc.

Dr. Raja Vadivelu


Dr. Raja Vadivelu is a Research Fellow in the 3D Cell Biology Division of the Queensland Micro and Nano Technology Centre (QMNC). He received his Ph.D. in 2017 under the supervision of Professor. Nam-Trung Nguyen at the QMNC Griffith University.  His Ph.D. conceptualized floating liquid marble for growing 3D tissue and studying cell-cell interaction. Raja performed his undergraduate studies at the University of Malaya where he studied Genetics and Molecular biology. He then joined the University Putra to complete a Master degree in cell biology. He also spent 18 months as a research assistant at the Institute of Anatomy and Cell Biology, University of Freiburg, Germany, to develop cell transplantation model using 3D organotypic brain slice cultures. He then contributed to undergraduate teaching in subjects related to biomedical sciences at the University Tunku Abdul Rahman for 3 years. Dr. Raja Vadivelu’s has published 20 papers between 2012 to 2018 in Scientific Reports and other high-quality journals. He has been a recipient of a travel award from the International Society for Neurochemistry and Griffith University International Postgraduate Research Scholarship. Dr. Raja Vadivelu is interested in applying digital microfluidic platform for developing 3D in vitro model of cancer and 3D biofabrication strategies for regenerative medicine.  He enjoys collaborating with researchers from different disciplines to develop new skills and solve new challenges. Currently, he is actively involved in understanding the interaction of breast stromal and cancer cells. Particularly, elucidating the interaction of anoiksis resistant breast cancer cells with the stromal cell. His other aims are to understand the effect of mechanical forces on cytoskeleton  properties and mitochondrial mass of anoiksis resistant cancer cells.


  • Dr. Navid Kashaninejad, 2017 to 2016, PhD (Nanyang Technological University), currently research fellow at University of Technology Sydney.
  • Dr. Say Hwa Tan, 2015 to 2016, BSc, Meng (Nanyang Technological University), PhD (Max Plank Institute, University of Goettingen), currently ARC DECRA fellow at QMNC, Griffith University
  • Dr. Yap Yit Fatt, 2006-2009, BSc, MEng (University of Technology Malaysia), PhD (NTU), Droplet based microfluidics, currently Assistant Professor, Petroleum Institute, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.
  • Dr. Patrick Abgrall, 2006-2008, BSc (University of Renne), MSc(University of Renne), PhD(Paul Sabatier University, Toulouse, France), Nanochannels and nanofluidic technologies, currently with FORMULACTION, Toulouse, France.
  • Dr. Sohel Murshed, 2007-2008, BSc (Bangladesh Institute of Technology), MEng (Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology), PhD (NTU), Currently Professor at University of Lisbon, Portugal.