Vivekananthan Balakrishnan

Thesis Title: Design, characterization and optimization of silicon carbide thermal sensors. Commenced 2016

Principal supervisor: Prof. Nam Trung Nguyen

Co-supervisor: Dr. Dzung Viet Dao

Key themes: Study of Segmented wires and thin film microheaters, Development of suitable analytical models, Novel thermal flow sensors for harsh environments

Jing Jin

Thesis Title: Coalescence of liquid marbles. Commence 2017

Principal supervisor: Prof. Nam Trung Nguyen

Co-supervisor: Dr. Dzung Dao

Key themes: Manipulation of liquid marbles; Coalescence of liquid marbles through vertical collision, liquid marble work as a novel digital microfluidic paltform

Munaz Ahmed

Thesis Title: Devices and systems for three-dimensional cell. Commenced 2015

Principal supervisor: Prof. Nam Trung Nguyen

Co-supervisor: Dr. Muhammad J. A. Shiddiky

Key themes: Microfluidics, 3D spheroids and their fusion, Cell mixing, separation and on chip detection

Sreejith Kamalalayam Rajan

Thesis Title: Polymerase chain reaction using liquid marbles. Commenced 2018.

Principal supervisor: Prof. Nam-Trung Nguyen

Co-supervisor: Dr. Dzung Dao

Key themes: Analytical modelling, simulation, and implementation of microreactors for biochemical reactions using liquid marbles. High throughput PCR platform using Liquid marbles.  Mechanical characterisation of liquid marbles.

Adrian Teo

Thesis Title: Active Droplet Control and Manipulation in Microfluidics. Commenced 2017

Principal supervisor: Dr. Say Hwa Tan

Co-supervisor: Prof. Nam-Trung Nguyen

Key themes: Theoretical modeling of droplet generation and dynamics. Pressure driven flow for microfluidic applications. Utilization of negative pressure in droplet manipulation.

Nikhil Aravindakshan

Thesis title: Design, optimization and characterization of photonic crystal beads for environmental application. Commenced 2016

Principal supervisor: Assoc. Prof. Qin Li

Co-supervisors: Prof. Nam-Trung Nguyen, Prof. Huijun Zhao, Prof. Dongyuan Zhao

Key themes: Fabrication of multilayered photonic beads, Investigating the optical properties of the hierarchical structure and understand the photon emission dynamics, Combining new composite materials to the hierarchical structures and optimizing them for efficiently utilizing full spectrum of solar energy for applications involving photovoltaics, photocatalysis and sensing.

Kseniia Boriachek

Thesis Title: A Portable Device for the Analysis of Exosomal Biomarkers in Human Cancer. Commenced 2016

Principal supervisor: Dr. Muhammad J. A. Shiddiky

Co-supervisor: Prof. Nam-Trung Nguyen

Key themes: P-O-C device, exosomal cancer biomarker, non-invasive detection

Ripon Bhattacharjee

Thesis Title: Beyond Bisulfite Treatment Based Approaches: A Novel Electrochemical/Colorimetric Method for DNA Methylation Analysis. Commenced 2016

Principal supervisor: Dr Muhammad J. A. Shiddiky

Co-supervisor: Prof. Nam-Trung Nguyen

Key themes: DNA methylation, Bisulfite free, Electrochemistry

Sharda Yadav

Thesis Title: Molecular diagnostics for glycosylated proteins and autoantibodies. Commenced 2016

Principal supervisor: Dr. Muhammad J. A. Shiddiky

Co-supervisor: Prof. Nam-Trung Nguyen

Key themes: Measuring glycosylation in proteins and autoantibodies against them is of great interest to biology and medicine. Such information is extremely difficult to access via currently available conventional methodologies. Highly efficient analysis of glycosylated protein and autoantibodies can be achieved using electrochemical and microfluidics phenomenon.

Md. Nazmul Islam

Thesis Title: Towards point-of-care biosensing of RNA biomarkers in cancer. Commenced 2016

Principal supervisor: Dr. Muhammad J. A. Shiddiky

Co-supervisor: Professor Nam-Trung Nguyen

Key themes: Ribonucleic acids as cancer biomarkers, Developing low cost tools for cancer detection, Electrochemical and plasmonic nano-biosensors




Lena Gorgannezhad

Thesis Title: Beyond PCR and sequencing: A new method for real-time and label-free analysis of ctDNA. Commenced 2016

Principal supervisor: Dr. Muhammad J. A. Shiddiky

Co-supervisor: Prof. Nam Trung Nguyen

Key themes: Cancer detection, ctDNA


PhD students

  1. Harshad KAMBLE (supervisor) Development of cell stretching devices for Mechanobiology (2015-2017)
  2. Raja VADIVELU (supervisor) Liquid marbles as bioreactor for 3D cell culture (2013-2017)
  3. Mei Kum KHAW (co-supervisor) Magnetic manipulation of liquid marbles (2013-2017)
  4. Toan DINH (supervisor) SiC thermal sensors (2014-2017)
  5. Majid HEJAZIAN (supervisor) Magnetofluidics (2014-2017)
  6. Chin Hong OOI (supervisor) Liquid marbles (2014-2017)
  7. PHAN Hoan Phuong (supervisor) SiC based MEMS (2013-2015)
  8. PHAN Dinh Tuan (supervisor) Nanofluidics for water desalination (2011-2015)
  9. HO Peng Ching (supervisor)  Droplet formation of functional fluids in microfluidics (2007-2011)
  10. ZHU Guiping (supervisor) Magnetowetting (2009-2013)
  11. TOH Guek Geok Alicia  (supervisor) Gradient generator and applications (2010-2014)
  12. KONG Tian Fook (supervisor) Single-cell NMR detection (2010-2014)
  13. Ranjini RADHAKRISHNAN (co-supervisor, AP Murukeshan Vadakke Matham as Main Supervisor) Micro optofluidics (2008-2012)
  14. Navid KASHANINEJAD (co-supervisor, AP Chan WK as main supervisor) Slip flow in microchannels (2008-2012)
  15. Sayed Ali MOUSAVI Shaegh (supervisor) Micro fuel cells, currently Researcher with SIMTech, A-STAR (2008-2012)
  16. XU Bin (co-supervisor)  Multiphase flow in microscale, currently Development Engineer (2008-2012)
  17. CHE Zhizhao (co-supervision) Multiphase flow in microscale, currently postdoc at NTU (2007-2011)
  18. SONG Chaolong (supervisor) Micro optofluidics, currently postdoc at NTU, currently postdoc at University of Florida (2007-2011)
  19. PHAN Vinh Nguyen (supervisor) Nanofluidics, currently working in industry (2007-2011)
  20. LI Aidan (co-supervision) Micro fuel cell, optimization of fuel cell electrodes, currently working in industry (2006-2010)
  21. LIU Jing (supervisor) Fluid/structure interaction, deformation of bio particles and large molecules, currently postdoc at NTU (2007-2011)
  22. Dr. JIAO Zhenjun (supervisor), currently postdoc with University of Tokyo (2006-2008)
  23. Dr. WU Zhigang PhD (supervisor), currently Associate Professor at Uppsala University, Sweden (2001-2004)
  24. Dr. LUO Cheng PhD supervisor), (co-supervision) 2002-2005

Master of Engineering students

  1. LUONG Trung Dung BEng (NTU), Part-time, Project Officer (2008-2011)
  2. TAN Hsih Yin BEng (NTU), Part-time, DSO Researcher (2008-2010)
  3. TAN Say Hwa Patrick (PI as Supervisor) BEng (NTU), Part-time, Project Officer, Currently with Max Planck Institute, Germany (2008-2010)
  4. Ali BEYZAVI (PI as Supervisor) BSc (Azad University, Iran), Currently with Boston University, Droplet-based microfluidics (2006-2008)
  5. TING Teck Hui (PI as Co-upervisor) BSc (NTU), Droplet-based microfluidics (2005-2007)

Master of Science students

  1. YONG Kian Fei, Design of experiment (DOE) on printed flexible heaters and substrate materials (2008-2009)
  2. TAN Teck Choon, Handheld device development for microTAS (2005-2006)
  3. MECHERI Sathy Anarayanan Ashwin Microfluidic surface tension sensor (2005-2006)
  4. HO Peng Ching, BME/05/007 Modelling, fabrication and optical characterization of a polymeric micromixer based on serialsegmentation (2005-2006)
  5. BOSCO Monu, Analysis and Development of a polymeric continous DNA-amplifier (2002 -2003)